President William Ruto’s Cabinet now settles after swearing-in

President William Ruto’s Cabinet is now complete after the 24 appointees took the oath of office on Thursday, October 27.

The swearing-in ceremony, presided over by the Head of State, was held at State House, Nairobi.

Felix Koskei, who had been picked to replace Joseph Kinyua as Head of Public Service, was the first to take the oath of office.

Koskei’s swearing-in allowed him to take charge of administering the oath, calling the Cabinet Secretary appointees to the podium to swear their respective allegiances.

Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi was the first Cabinet appointee to take the oath of office, followed by Attorney-General appointee Justin Muturi.


Kithure Kindiki, the Interior ministry designate, was the third to be sworn into office.

The other CS appointees and the Secretary to the Cabinet Mercy Wanjau followed thereafter.

Following their swearing-in, all the Cabinet Secretaries assume office with immediate effect, marking the end of an era for all CSs under President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration, except for Simon Chelugui, the former Labour minister who has been retained as a CS in Ruto’s administration. Chelugui is now in charge of the Co-operatives ministry.